top of page

Back to School

I walked through Walmart the other day and noticed school supplies were out and honestly wasn't surprised because the 4th of July is over so really what's next, Halloween? It's a little too early for that so back to school it is. I walked past it thinking I have PLENTY of time before I even need to think about this! The next day I was at a get together with friends and they were talking about school supplies being out and one of them was literally severely irritated about this. Another friend of mine pleasantly reminded her that there was only 6 weeks left till school starts again. I almost spit my beverage out...what do you mean there's only 6 weeks until school starts again!? Where did the time go, where did our summer go, did we even have a summer!?!?!?!? I can say as a mother of an athlete we can get so wrapped up in those practices, camps, clinic, games that we don't even realize how much time we spend involved with that sport and the next thing you know it's mid-July and the next sport starts in three weeks! Phewww..it's exhausting. These poor kids, but they love it and maybe it's because it's all they know! BUT I will say it really makes me look at the amount of time I really have with my kids and then how much of that is actually quality time! Looks like I have some adjustments to make! Anyhoo there are 6 weeks left till school starts, 6 weeks left to get the school supply list, get a cart full of school supplies, split them between 4 kids, get new backpacks, new clothes, new shoes, and the list goes on! I should be happy to send the kids back to school right? I'm not though, I mean I love the structure of the school year, but I also love my kids at home. I will say the bickering is starting to get worse which usually means it's time to go back. They are not ready, they feel like they were just let out of school and now 6 weeks of summer is all they have left, they have so much more to do!! Settle down children, 6 weeks equals 42 days and that is plenty of time to get your summer on...well unless your in football because I'm pretty sure that starts soon! After all of your shopping is done, it will be time to get your school haircut of course! After the summer has taken it's toll on our lovely locks it will be time to come on in for a trim! This is one of my favorite parts of back to school of course, not just because I love cutting children's hair, but because it's an educational event! Let's chat about scalp care, let's talk about lice prevention, let's gab about dry hair, the list goes on people and when you put my two favorite things together (talking and educating) I'm in heaven! And then there is the liter sales...if you need a shampoo and conditioner people, this is the time to stock up! Salons will have their liter duos ready and raring to head out the door with each and every guest! May I recommend Tea Tree to those of you with children as melaleuca (key ingredients in Tea Tree products) is a natural lice repellant...just saying!! So at the end of the day here's the scoop there's 6 weeks left until our bundles of joy head back to another year of education, which means whether we like it or not it's almost back to school time! We will just have to deal with stores already having the supplies out, and if you're there just grab your kids supply list because if you wait to long lets face it you wont get one they will be gone ( but still available online), but come on, we all like to have that hard copy! Let's get the most out of what's left of our summer! And when it's time to schedule your kids back to school cut, don't forget to take advantage of your salons back to school sale, don't leave without your liter duo of shampoo and conditioner! Happy 6th Monday before school starts again everyone!!!

bottom of page